

For Immediate Release September 4, 2015

DETROIT BOWLING HALL OF FAME ELECTS FOUR NEW MEMBERS

The Detroit Bowling Hall of Fame Committee, a committee of the Metro Detroit USBC Association (MDUSBC), has elected four new members to its Hall of Fame and named three others for special awards. This will increase the number of hall of fame members to 256.

Janice Pavella of Phoenix, Ariz., Kurt Pilon of Warren, Christopher Sand of Sterling Heights and Richard Schultz of Macomb earned their place in the prestigious hall. David Bernhardt of Romeo, Thomas Stockton of Sterling Heights and the late John Brown will receive special awards.

Pavella won three Detroit Women's Bowling Association team titles. In 1974 with the Pine Tree Bowl team, 1977 with Motown Records and 1983 with Bonanza Restaurants.

She also won a DWBA doubles title in 1992.

Completing her resume was second team All-City selections in 1979 and 1982.

Pilon has excelled at every level from local to national.

As a professional he won the Professional Bowlers Association Peoria Open in 2001, two PBA Regional titles and PBA Regional Rookie of the Year in 1998.

He was a member of the ABC Team champions Dan Ottman Enterprises in 1997.

In 1993 he won the first of three Michigan State team titles with Lou Magic State Farm. The others were 1997 (Ansara Parkway) and 2011 (S&B Pro Shop #1). He also won Michigan State All-Events in 2011.

Other titles include three Michigan Majors, four Brunswick World Team Challenge, six High Roller, Hoinke team, Hoinke team clash and Cleveland Kickoff Classic.

Five times he's been named to the All-City team.

His high career average is 242. He also has thirty-one 300 games, including 16 in PBA competition and seven 800 series with 816 as his highest.

Sand began his career amassing six Michigan Junior Masters Association and Junior Tournament Bowlers Association titles.

He was named Detroit All-Star Rookie of the Year in 1995, competing on teams which won five titles. He also had the high average for the Cup Rolloffs (256.3) in 1999.

Locally he won Team title in 1997, Doubles in 1998 and All-Events in 2003. He also won the Masters in 2000.

He was a member of the Ansara Parkway team, which won the Michigan State Team title in 1997

He has one PBA Regional title.

Other titles include six Brunswick World Team Challenge, three Michigan Majors and three High Roller. In 1997 he was the Michigan Majors leading money and average winner, being named Bowler of the Year.

He finished third in the ABC Masters in 1998.

He has twenty-eight 300 games, seventeen 800 series with a high of 876 and a career high average of 241.

Schultz won the Greater Detroit Bowling Association All-Events in 1997 and was a member of the winning team in 2009. He's been named to the All-City team twice, once as a senior.

He has three Michigan Majors titles and was named Sportsman of the Year in 2012. He also has one National Senior Bowling Association title.

Five times he's been awarded high school Coach of the Year in his division.

His high career average is 232. He has twenty-four 300 games and six 800 series to his credit.

David Bernhardt will be honored with the Thomas W. McKay Award for a lifetime of service to the sport of bowling.

Thomas Stockton will receive the Judge Watts Award for making outstanding contributions to the promotion of bowling.

John Brown will receive the George Prybyla Industry Award presented for someone involved in the ownership or management of a bowling center that has contributed to the promotion of the sport.

Induction ceremonies will take place Sunday, Nov. 8, 2015 at DeCarlo's Banquet and Convention Center, 6015 E. Ten Mile Rd., Warren. Cocktails will be served at 4 p.m., dinner at 5 p.m. with ceremonies to follow. Tickets are \$30 each and can be purchased through the MDUSBC office at (248) 443-2695 ext. 104.

Media Contact: Mark Martin, (248) 443-2695, ext. 100, mark.martin@mdusbc.com