

For Immediate Release August 27, 2018

DETROIT BOWLING HALL OF FAME ELECTS FOUR NEW MEMBERS

The Detroit Bowling Hall of Fame Committee, a committee of the Metro Detroit USBC (MDUSBC), has elected four new members to its Hall of Fame and named three others for special awards. This will increase the number of hall of fame members to 271.

Nicole Edwards of West Bloomfield, Scott Bowersock of Dearborn Heights, Edwin Peart of Southfield and Larry Paladino of Warren earned their place in the prestigious Hall. Michael DeRousie of Livonia, Vera Johnson of Detroit and JoAnn Taylor of St. Clair Shores will receive special awards.

Edwards began her bowling career at a young age by winning four Michigan Junior Masters Association (MJMA) titles, the Michigan State Youth Girls Singles title in 2001 and was a member of the Michigan State High School Girls champion with Sterling Heights Stevenson in 2001.

She then joined the University of Nebraska women's bowling team, which won the NCAA title in 2004 and 2005.

She's been named to the MDUSBC Women's All-City team four times (2008, 2010, 2011 and 2012), including captain in 2012.

In Michigan State competition, she won the 2006 Doubles with Nicole Idziak-Owsley; Team titles in 2009, 2010 and 2012; Singles in 2012; and All-Events in 2010.

She won the MDUSBC All-Events in 2010; Doubles with Kim Maddy in 2012 and Team in 2012.

Her resume includes four 300 games and two 800 series.

Bowersock has been named to the MDUSBC Men's All-City team four times (2011, 2012, 2015 and 2017).

His titles include the MDUSBC Team in 2011, 2012 and 2017; and Doubles in 2013 and 2017.

Twice he's been named the winner of the Joe Paulus Sportsmanship Award in the Detroit All-Star Classic.

He and partner Edward Mintz have the third highest doubles series in MDUSBC history with 1,567.

He is the proud owner of forty-one 300 games, forty-nine 800 series including a high of 869 and a career high average of 246.

Peart began bowling at the age of 8, recording his first honor score of 299 at 17.

He led the Detroit All-Star Classic in average in the 1977-78 season with 219.32.

He joined the famed Stroh's Beer team, under the captainship of Harry Campbell, in 1979. While on the team, Stroh's won the 1980 American Bowling Congress Championship with Peart leading the team with 676.

The following year the Stroh's Beer team nearly repeated the 1980 title, finishing in third place.

Peart's other titles include one Michigan Majors, two Mid-State Masters titles, one Senior Singles Open title and two TNBA Bill Rhodman Central Division championships.

He has over twenty 300 games, six 800 series with a high of 842 and a career high average of 235.

Paladino earns his place in the Hall, not as a bowler but as a bowling writer, in the Meritorious Service Category.

During his career, he covered bowling for the *Detroit News*, *Sports Fans' Journal, Bowling Digest, Gannett News Service* and *Detroit Free Press*. As editor of the *Birmingham Eccentric*, he successfully fought for coverage of bowling in the *Observer-Eccentric* newspapers. He was the Michigan Sports Editor for the *Associated Press* from 1968-79, which included responsibility for coverage of all state, major city tournaments and pro bowling tours.

While writing for *Gannett News Service* he wrote a story on the top 10 men and women bowlers of all time. For the *Sports Fans' Journal*, he got Aleta Sill, Marshall Holman and Chuck Pezzano to be regular columnists.

Awards he's won include the Judge John D. Watts award in 1998; Michigan Majors Bowling Association tournament dedication in 1998; media award from the Southeast Michigan Bowling Centers Association in 1987; Pro Bowlers Marketing Corporation service award in 1992; Greater Detroit Bowling Association meritorious service award in 1988; was President of the Detroit Old-Timers Bowling Association and received its 2007 tournament dedication.

Michael DeRousie will be honored with the Thomas W. McKay Award for a lifetime of service to the sport of bowling.

Vera Johnson will receive the Judge Watts Award for making outstanding contributions to the promotion of bowling.

JoAnn Taylor will receive the George Prybyla Industry Award presented for someone involved in the ownership or management of a bowling center that has contributed to the promotion of the sport.

Induction ceremonies will take place Sunday, Oct. 14, 2018 at DeCarlo's Banquet and Convention Center, 6015 E. Ten Mile Rd., Warren. Cocktails will be served at 4 p.m., dinner at 5 p.m. with ceremonies to follow. Tickets are \$30 each and can be purchased through the MDUSBC office at (248) 443-2695 ext. 104.

Media Contact: Mark Martin, (248) 443-2695, ext. 100, mark.martin@mdusbc.com